My Approach to Working with Clients on Commissions

happyclientI do love it when someone enjoys my work enough to want to invest in it at a gallery or exhibition – it gives you a kind of affirmation I guess; but for me there is no greater joy than being commissioned to undertake a bespoke sculpture.  The client will have seen my work and feel inspired enough to want to have one of my sculptures made specifically for them and usually situated in a particular place.detail

Commissioning leads to a special relationship which I not only enjoy but influences me and takes my work in unanticipated directions – after all no two briefs are ever the same and of course the locations differ enormously.

Rhythmic Form2I always go into a new commission with an open mind and look to respond to the site specifically and also to draw upon the tastes and aspirations of my client – what style is their home, what artists do they admire and what do they have on their walls…

maquettes

Generally I make about 6 or 8 sketch maquettes for a commission – simple little forms in basic media with a view to exploring my ideas and giving the client something to visualise.  These themselves are distilled from lots of sketching and playing with materials, trying to find a ‘way in’… It’s always interesting to see which forms resonate most with the client and surprising how often we are on the same wavelength.

2013_1121pics0019fmaq10

 

 

 

 

 

 

With this feedback I am able to develop the maquettes to the next level, usually at a larger scale and things start to clarify.  It really is quite an organic process, I never know where it is going to lead, and takes on a momentum all of its own.  Generally it takes several months with numerous client meetings along the way, to arrive at a final form – depending on the chosen scale this is either moulded and cast directly or scaled up and then moulded and cast.

weysidewindside

Left and right are my two latest commissions – shown in plaster and currently at the foundry being cast into bronze for installation before Christmas!

 

 

This entry was posted in abstract sculpture, gary scott blog, plaster sculpture, sculpture blog and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Approach to Working with Clients on Commissions

  1. Reblogged this on alexhalesite and commented:
    Worth reading

Leave a Reply

