New Sculpture for St Ives, Cornwall

mayorIf you’ve been following my blog for a while, you may remember that in 2014 I had the honour of installing a Memorial sculpture ‘Free Spirit’ in the heart of St Ives, Cornwall.  It was unveiled with a flourish by the Mayor (I did a post on this at the time, if you are interested).

I was so delighted to be asked to undertake a second sculpture for the same development (St Nicholas Court, Porthmeor Road) as this was for me a massive endorsement of my work – after all the residents had lived with my first sculpture for a couple of years and were keen to get a second(!)

The idea this time was to reflect much of the same qualities as the first piece, particularly the sea and the feeling of the location between the bays in St Ives but not to overshadow the earlier memorial sculpture.  I worked up a number of sketch maquette ideas – many of which had similar lines to the original work but different in form – the new sculpture needed to sit happily alongside the original and not jar with it but complement it without being too similar…

IMG_3957

The piece that I developed through to the final work was inspired in large part by those lovely square sales you see on old fashioned Cornish fishing boat rigs – and by coincidence, much painted by Alfred Wallace who used to live yards away… It’s called ‘On the Wind’.

IMG_3976

IMG_3979

This entry was posted in abstract sculpture, gary scott blog, plaster sculpture, sculpture blog, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to New Sculpture for St Ives, Cornwall

  1. Lovely, we will look out for it next time we’re down in St Ives.

Leave a comment